Aside

Launch Out – Anchor’s Away! Destination: Maine, America

Multiple forms of travel fascinate me.  I have yet to sail, but that shall soon change. One of my goals for 2014 is to learn to sail before Fall.  I regret not having gone out on a schooner in Maine last year during a quick trip there.  The Fish Chowder and fresh caught Lobster eaten in the sunshine sitting on the restaurant pier could not be improved upon, though!  Cadillac Mountain was a sight to behold…ah, I digress!  Sailing ventures yet await.

Can you feel the warmth of the sun combined with the crisp breeze?  That photo causes me to breathe deeper and sit up straighter, as I feel my eyes squint against the brightness and my pulse quicken in anticipation.  I want to be there.  Or I want that to be here.  Either way, we should be together, the boat and I.

In preparation for my next trip to Maine, I will be perusing the site below in great detail.  The captains restored one of their boats completely, and now provide extended sailing trips to guests, up to six days!  Although I enjoy water, I’m not sure about being on it for days on end…but perhaps it would be grand!

http://www.camdenmainevacation.com/heritage.php

Camden Maine Lighthouses

Let’s see, for those days on land, pleasant accommodations are in order.  Some potential landing places (pun fully intended) are depicted next.

http://www.bbonline.com/united-states/maine/

The last trip found me at Thornhedge.  The host most graciously returned my late evening phone call and provided arrangements allowing a late check in (read that, 2:00 am check in).  Breakfast and conversation were equally wonderful in that the host joined us for breakfast and interacted with everyone.  He freely shared recipes and instructions for fabulous yet simple-to-prepare delectable foods.

http://www.thornhedgeinn.com/

Thornehedge

Leave a Reply

